The Garden Path

Free Verse

Jean Campbell
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

I woke up in a galaxy of blue
with a piece of forest in each palm:

a pencil and a ruler for the wide expanse
of sea inside my parent’s house.

I treaded waves, tucked my #2
behind one feral ear, and memorized

the value of an inch. What to take the measure of?
Love was spyglass, sextant, ship:

I was captivated by the measureless.

I fell into the air like the flicker of a tail.

I guess they watched me disappear
from leaf to leaf until I touched
the scent
of honey dripping from the vines.

In a garden sculpted from the shade
my paws felt earth, then came the breath
of topiary beasts

declawed. I couldn’t lift

my father’s sword,
nor wear the shield my mother wore —

yet neither am I wholly wild, for I know

they meant no harm
when they armed me with fine implements
to circumnavigate the globe. I said no

--

--

Jean Campbell
Lit Up

Writer by day, reader by night, napper by afternoon.