The Loboutimization of My Red

Mary Ann Alexander
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readJun 15, 2018
Photo by Mauricio Santanna on Unsplash

I walk a thin line.

I could be here or there.

And so I learn I don’t own a Red.

Actually I never did.

But I used it like I did.

For all the colors were all mine.

And so they were yours.

Red….

I enjoyed it - splashed for color

As just a dollop of strawberry jam on my cream

Or whipped up red,

A beautiful streak on all my
accessories.

It defined me.

Whether on my bared soul

or crown

or sole

or even if it was as a painted on exclamation

on a straw weed shoe

crafted by a beautiful tribe

up in the remote of some remote.

But now am told

I must no longer own the red and use it as it were mine.

For now

The color

Red is

owned.

For a sole and sole purpose only.

Careful:

For art

on whim

or fancy

Can be

surgically

separated

lobotomized

from

colors

and feelings.

Raw.

Exposed.

Red.

Disclaimer: The above was written with a creative intention. Any relevance or reference to the news that is being shared on social media (such as in the news item above) is merely coincidental.

--

--

Mary Ann Alexander
Lit Up
Writer for

Now in Finland. Rather an introvert, but garrulous when I type ;)…