Jennifer Jean Dominguez
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readNov 26, 2017

--

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter

My head hit the wall when I stretched. How did I get so far up in the bed? Usually my feet were hanging off the bottom. I rolled over and patted the covers to find my phone. I opened my eyes a little. Ugh, it’s all the way on the other side. I reached for it, knowing I wouldn’t be able to touch it, but my palm landed on top of the bright pink smartphone. Maybe my eyes tricked me. I opened my eyes a little more and checked the time. Only 6 o’clock? I reached my arms up to shake the kinks out. I touched the ceiling. What?

The next thing I knew my mom stood over me.

“What’s wrong, honey?”

I realized I had been screaming. I closed my mouth and took a couple of shuddering breaths.

“Look… at… my… arms.”

Mom’s eyes narrowed and she looked down at my arms. I didn’t remember dropping them. She felt up and down each one with ice cold hands. How could her patients stand it?

“Sweetie, nothing appears to be wrong with your arms. Do you want to tell me what happened?”

I showed her. This time I knocked dust off the ceiling fan. Instead of freaking out, my mom’s face glowed with delight.

“I must call Dr. Wharton! He will be delighted.” She turned to leave the room.

“Mom, why would Dr. Wharton be excited I have elastic arms?” I asked. The answer frightened me.

“Remember those vitamins I gave you yesterday? They are something new Dr. Wharton whipped up. He has high hopes for them.” She laughed. Really, mom. You find this funny. “Did you get it? High hopes?”

Why did I have to have a mad scientist for a mother!

--

--