The Metallic Garden

Brandon Conway
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readOct 27, 2018
The Metallic Garden

When I first passed the gates
into the metallic garden
stamping out seeds
for the junkyard
with its 24/7 cardiac output

I gazed upon the eyes of the creatures
that inhabited this oily soil
of steel and chemicals
all I saw was a cry for help
to escape
to be away
just one day
they cry, just one day

I got caught in the claws
and it scratched
and scratched
the wounds heal but the scars stay

I have become a trapped animal
with eyes of dismay

There’s little chance of escape
I can dream
I can pray
one day I echo
one day

Now I am just taxidermy
for this godforsaken industry
and they call this
quality.

--

--

Brandon Conway
Lit Up
Writer for

Located betwixt and between Scylla and Charybdis filling up my day with anything to keep the ennui away. Sometimes that is a Herculean task.