The Parable of the Traveling Ear

Visions in Free Verse

Uṇṇi Nambia̅r
Lit Up
1 min readJun 17, 2024

--

I lost my ear once
And it crawled away
A long way away
squirming …

Harmony of cicadas
Every thirteen reborn
Numinous in the forest
enchanted

Mary walks with me
Everywhere I go
In devotion my life
unravels

Green is the parrot
On a swaying blade
Screeching grammar
violently

Primitive man, a mystic
Of symbols and more
Symbols, the truth was
radiant

Forgive the waters
Of this earth forsaken
Until dawn’s first rays
undulate

In singular rotation
Early morning breeds
Shadowy glow of blinds
seeking

Orthogonal in time
Past and Future present
A scratch of the stylus
remembers

Verses bleeding
From an unopened sore
Coagulates on pages
unread

Unsung songs
Stumbles through uneven
Cobbled pavement stones
eroded

Detailed explications
In excessive banality
Conceals a meaning
shrouded

Aristotelian metaphysics
Lost in confabulations
An angry grey shark bites
unkindly

Noises from the world
Squishes lazily back in
Bringing back tribulations
galore

Hiding in my ear pod
I am the universe
Lost in the singularity
squirming

© Unni Nambiar (Apr 21, 2024)

--

--

Uṇṇi Nambia̅r
Lit Up

“I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.” ― Mary Oliver