The Peepal Tree

Tjmakesk
Lit Up
Published in
3 min readMar 23, 2021

--

We believe in the unbelievable — Bruce M. Hood

Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

Nani told me someone lives behind the Peepal tree. “Don’t go there with your head uncovered because he will pee on your head and hang on your choti.” That really intrigued my young curiosity. I always slowed whenever I walked past the tree. Tried not to look at it directly, so I could catch some flutter or sway of the leaves.

During a wedding in the house, it was when I first heard all the hushing and whispering. Caught a few words here and there about shapeshifter and sorcery. I wanted to investigate this matter to the depth of its mystery. Once the wedding was over and fewer guests were left sleeping around the veranda and near the tree, I decided to stay up late to watch and study the tree.

The moon was full and its light shined on the open space below. I sat on the ground next to the little opening in the railing on the first floor. Spread my scarf out to keep myself warm and my legs cushioned from the roughness of the bricked floor.

I peeked through the opening from time to time, but soon lost myself to the sweetness of sleep. “What was that?” My mind jolted me awake. I looked out again and saw nothing in the darkness out there. Took me a minute to adjust my eyes and alas what is it that I see! There was someone or something kneeling behind the shadow of the Peepal tree.

--

--

Tjmakesk
Lit Up

Interested in sharing our experiences, thoughts, opinions, and philosophies, among others.