The Poetry of Loves Expectations

Brianna williams
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readJul 12, 2024

a longing for an unprecedented love

Photo by Christina Deravedisian on Unsplash

I wonder if love is something like a misplaced package? Everyone wants it, but only a few receive. I’ve placed my order long ago, and they must be backed up on requests as I haven’t received my package yet. Am I to report it missing even though it hasn’t arrived? Or shall I wait in the long line of others whose product was “falsely advertised”?

" This wasn’t what I ordered!" they pout in hissy fits.

" There’s a long list of items he hasn’t checked off my list! "

As if you can choose who you love by all the boxes they fit in.

Please ;)

What a dream, no man nor woman truly ever knows what they shall receive, for love is versatile, like an ebbing flowing river. Always changing and never staying the same. Not for any Dick, Mary or Jane.

Nor am I liable to stay the same,

I want my man's love as passionate as I, even better if he, too, writes a little on the side, a man that’ll look me in my eyes and tell me my soul is one of kind,

And not for any egoistic driven reason, but because our souls are intertwined. A man that’ll jive and stick and move to the rhythm of my stride. Cause I do love a little dancing from time to time. And I would just love it if we could dance to all the good slow jams my grandparents did in their prime

A man that is equally as romantic as me, as I do love when a man can spit a little poetry, how refreshing it would be for a man to love me just as birds love to sing in early morning spring. And if it’s not too much to ask, late night car rides spent listening to honey coated symphonies.

A wild and confusing, slightly self-loathing soul just like mine, oh to experience a love like that would simply be divine. A human connection is what I crave, one that comes with both good and bad days, for no man on this earth is perfectly made.

To be in love with a man that fiercely loves me back, that’ll always be by my side, and no matter the fact, tells me the truth, damned be my pride. A man who is equally as devoted as I. One who is ready for fatherhood and eager to make me his wife.

Oh, the thought of a man like that is enough to get me high.

Hey 👋☺, if you love my poetry and would like a custom poem for any special occasion, click my fiverr link and order your own poem today !

https://www.fiverr.com/s/99G49Pj

--

--