Prose Poetry on Lit Up

The Quiet Fury of Titans

The world will tremble when I speak

Ani Eldritch
Lit Up

--

engin akyurt took this black-and-white photo of an unhappy woman.
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I stand at the edge of the world, where the sky meets the sea in a marriage of bruised colors, the air thick with the weight of unsaid words.

Beneath my feet, the earth trembles with the restless dreams of ancient gods, their whispers threading through the roots of mountains and the veins of rivers.

I am no mere mortal, though the world would have me believe otherwise.

My blood hums with the quiet fury of Titans, a silent rebellion against the confines of flesh.

The ocean breathes in rhythmic sighs, pulling me closer to the abyss, its depths a mirror of the uncharted corners of my soul.

I feel the pull of something older than time itself, a gravity that tugs at the very marrow of my bones as if the sea remembers me as if it has been waiting for me to return.

I am both the storm and the calm, the wave and the shore, the inevitable crash, and the lingering echo.

I am Persephone, torn between worlds yet belonging fully to none.

The underworld clings to my skin, its shadows like a second flesh, while the sun above burns with a love that is tender and cruel.

Each breath is a negotiation, a truce between the light and the dark, the life and the death that war within me.

Hades’ voice is the whisper of nightfall, a promise of peace wrapped in the velvet of night, but it is Demeter’s tears that carve valleys in my heart, a grief that feeds the roots of spring.

The earth beneath me is soft, yielding as if it, too, understands the burden of choice, the weight of paths not taken.

In my wake, flowers bloom, tinged with the color of mourning, their petals heavy with the knowledge of dying and being reborn.

I walk the line between life and death, a tightrope strung between two eternities, and with each step, I weave the story of what it means to be both goddess and girl.

And I find my truth in this dance of opposites, this endless cycle of loss and return.

I am not the pawn in their games, not the prize to be won or lost.

I am the seed buried deep within the earth, waiting for the moment when the sun and the rain conspire to bring me back to life.

I am the quiet fury of Titans, the power that lies in stillness, in silence, in the spaces between the notes of their eternal song.

And when I rise, it is not for them, not for love or duty, but for the simple, undeniable fact of my existence.

For I am the quiet fury of Titans, and the world will tremble when I speak.

Ani Eldritch 2024

--

--

Ani Eldritch
Lit Up
Writer for

I am a writer and poet based in New York City. My style and genre are confessional literary realism.