The St. Clair Bridge Hurts

Georgiana Petec
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2018

--

The St. Clair bridge hurts

As when I look over I see the trees with parrots

And humming birds from the Dominican Republic.

The wind floats arrows circling from above,

One Cupid for so many pairs.

My hand points them to you,

My laughter crystal pours afterwards.

I peek at my side to collect your smile,

The loving gleam in your eyes,

But some runner is ready to hit me,

Staring at my stare.

I realize there is no smile,

No you,

No love.

My frozen cheek cannot move,

My burning eyes refuse to blink.

I glance back at the trees,

The parrots and the humming birds chirp again,

The wind plays Cupid with the sycamore seed pods,

I relive the laugh,

And turn to see you.

An old man’s icy gaze meets mine.

I do the exercise a dozen times until my heart aches.

I want to curl up out here, on the pavement of the bridge,

--

--

Georgiana Petec
Lit Up

Words, my trusted allies, written when you couldn’t be spoken, now for other voices to read you— I welcome you here. https://georgianapetec.com/