Tiger Stripes

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readMay 29, 2019
Photo by LIANE on Unsplash

I want to hold on to the moments

The way the light fell across her face
like tiger stripes cast by the blinds
painting bright colors over the shadows
A pair of chimera eyes
looking down on me

Or what about the stuff in-between

All the hours spent in that little room
with the red string lights and
the closet full of t-shirts
A library of sounds filtering
through picture windows

Or what about the ritual of going nowhere

Holding onto olive skin freckled by the sun
awash in expectation that I must
know more than lazy mornings
I must know more and yet
I can’t help but linger

Here where my heart is full

--

--

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Writer for

Eric Ryan Sorensen as a flow chart: Student -> Engineer -> Panic Attack -> Existential Crisis (Ongoing) -> Creative Documentation