To Go or Not to Go

John Tuttle
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readMay 5, 2018
Photo by John Tuttle.

The overused, dried-out saying

Of he who flees, runs away

Leaving bloodshed and slaying

Lives to slay another day

***

Is weighing on my mind

When all I that hold to be true

Seems to be one of a kind.

Unknown thoughts spring anew.

***

Do I stand up, or do I sit down?

Speak the truth or keep silent?

Should I wear a smile or a frown

While over my phone I’m bent?

***

Do I remain here in this dull, dry,

Yet adequate and content way of living or

Travel afar, led by promise or lie

Perhaps to a better lot: the one I dream for?

--

--

John Tuttle
Lit Up
Writer for

Journalist and creative. Words @ The Hill, Submittable, The Millions, Tablet Magazine, GMP, University Bookman, Prehistoric Times: jptuttleb9@gmail.com.