Twinkling Stars and Lullabies

Mustafiz Ray
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2018

Fall from the sky,
birds give us wings,
we reach for the moon,
Cause this is not some ordinary thing.

I wouldn't know where to begin,
you used to sing lullabies to me,
“Take it easy, girl,
It's a big world,
Be careful or you will fall.”

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Woman!!!

Do you love me,

Do you need me,

What have I become?

Dreaming on the sixth street,
hidden away under the Joshua tree,
thinking when will I be free.

Storming under the dark clouds,
I have detached myself from your grasp.

Stretch marks under the twinkling lights,
I don’t know who to fight,
Are you still standing there,
I miss my home,
I miss my hell.

Fall from the sky,

Birds give us wings,

we reach for the moon,

cause this is an ordinary thing.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

--

--

Mustafiz Ray
Lit Up
Writer for

I write poems on human emotion that sets into motion.