Image credit: https://unsplash.com/@mrsamwheeler

Up Ahead

Fadeyi Danlee
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readApr 15, 2018

--

Like the sun at dawn,
Filled with bright possibilities,
Yet equally filled with vibes of the opposite,

I find it ironic,
In school, I can’t wait to be at home,
Yet at home, I can’t wait to be in school.

And when I resume school,
The back breaking work begins:

Assignments to be completed,
Notes to be read,
Tests to prepare for,
Final exams to dread.

Yet,

I yearn for it,

For once I’m done with this term,

I shall move to the next,

And to the next,

And to the next,

Until finally,

I graduate,

Free of my bonds,

Only to be captured once more,

By university,

By college,

Another round of struggling begins,

With breaks in-between,

For it doesn’t want you dead,

It wants you alive,

To suffer all the more.

I break free of these bonds,

And I fall into another set,

A set I shall never be free of,

Until I end it,

By ending my own life,

Which I can’t do,

For I am afraid,

Of what looms up ahead,

It is filled with bright possibilities,

And yet,

Equally filled,

With vibes of the opposite.

--

--

Fadeyi Danlee
Lit Up
Writer for

I love writing. Flash fiction, Short Stories. More of my works on www.inkytalons.wordpress.com