Voice of Truth

Free Verse

Emet Baker
Lit Up
1 min readJan 15, 2021

--

Coming to terms with my name

Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

For a lie to be spoken, there must be silence. Before and after
Sometimes, the before and the after are the lie itself
Where silence is falsehood’s master
A broken chapter

In the guise of ambiguity, I speak or not. Unclearly or with laughter
In the internal game. Silence is death to the inner self
A river now flowing with doubt
An identity drought

What are these tones that catch my ears? Mutterings soft and loud
Rage. Am I really too lame to face my shame?
To live in the shadow
An unfit name

Emet Kol. Kol Emet
Voice of truth and truth of voice
The world is cruel, yes. Crude indeed
To make intended pride into my eternal vice

A sonic fabric
Woven syllabic, into patterns tragic
Quilted in meaning, sewn by dreamers dreaming
Am I this identity blanket, or just nestled up inside. No person but a person to hide

I lie

Perhaps in spite of my name
For it is quite the expectation, can I truly be at blame
It has not brought me gold or silver, nor bronze nor iron nor fame.

But in all of its glory, it has kept me sane

--

--