What Can’t I Control

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readNov 18, 2018
Photo by MMPR on Unsplash

I need the cold air in fading light
Remind me of the bodies purpose
Elemental, like the beginning of all things
Automatic, like the breath that is drawn in

I need dark rooms with no agendas
Lay me still beneath familiar blinds
Disoriented, like the folds of fabric
Draping, like the body of a stranger

Somewhere in between I slip into bitter questions
Alone with too many florescent lights
The hum of gas forced air like a lullaby
What can’t I control? What can’t I control?

One day they said asbestos killed my brother
One day they said lurking in that tepid air
One day after the other blinded by the
Bluest light

--

--

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Writer for

Eric Ryan Sorensen as a flow chart: Student -> Engineer -> Panic Attack -> Existential Crisis (Ongoing) -> Creative Documentation