What I want for Christmas this year

Marta Mozolewska
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readDec 20, 2018
Photo by Kristin Vogt (via pexels)

You want to pull me much closer
staying thousands of miles away.

You want to watch every step I take
flying free like a bird.

You want to know every secret of mine
defending yours like mad.

You want me to get up and run
having tied my feet and hands.

You want me to keep calm and relax
aiming at me a machine gun.

You want me to be tender and shine
growing cold like a deep January night.

You want me to be honest and frank
keeping fingers crossed behind your back.

You want my world to open before your eyes
building a wall around you up to the skies.

Do you want to know what I want
for Christmas this year?

I want love and kindness
I gave you in abundance
but never received in return.
So I’m going to be kind to me
and love myself
without you
as a present
for Christmas this year.

--

--

Marta Mozolewska
Lit Up
Writer for

translator, mother of two naughty kids, and writer in the meantime, marta.mozolewska333@gmail.com