What If Pumpkins Could Talk?

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readOct 24, 2018

What if pumpkins could talk? Would they have any last words as they’re loaded in the canon, family and friends looking on, those human spectators with their pumpkin spice lattes and handsome pumpkin slaves they plan to lobotomize, mutilate, throw out the front door or perhaps eat? They seem so stoic out there in the fields, but with all that time to think would they be eager to speak out? Say you treat this like no life at all, though it is mine, lived in fear and ended in pain. Say death will be my freedom but it will be the end of yours — BOOM.

I think I would have difficulty finding the words, paralyzed by the impossible cruelty of my fate and so staying stock still as I go silently towards it. I’ve never heard a pumpkin talk but that doesn’t rule anything out.

--

--

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Writer for

Eric Ryan Sorensen as a flow chart: Student -> Engineer -> Panic Attack -> Existential Crisis (Ongoing) -> Creative Documentation