You Are The Music

Violet James
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readMay 9, 2018
Pixabay copyright

“You are the music while the music lasts.” T.S. Eliot

You caress my skin, strumming the melody

The verse is written with the whisper of your name

While my heart beats rhythmically to your touch

A symphonic chorus of angels harmonizes

And you are the conductor, guiding me forward

Wave after wave of your wand hypnotises me

You are the maestro composing my sonata

I am the opera singer within your labyrinth

Weaving the intricate tale of our love story

A wash of treble clefs, dancing on gossamer strings

I am alto to your bass the Soprano to your Tony

Bars upon bars of lilting poetry sing reverently

Quivering under your masterful composition

But when the music ceases so shall I

My ear attuned to your key, every octave a prayer

Without you near I no longer hear the melody

--

--