You learn a lot about someone when they don’t get their way

NT
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readOct 19, 2017

We didn’t go on vacation again this year. All my friends go on a vacation and I wanted one, too. At work, the owner promoted his nephew over Dad so he didn’t get the raise we needed for extras, like a vacation. Since then, Dad has come home late almost every night. Seems that the owner’s nephew doesn’t know how to do the job he was promoted into. Now Dad has to do it and his regular job. And he wasn’t promoted. I don’t think that’s fair and I told Dad so. He just smiled and said he was happy to have a job so he could support his family. I told Mom it wasn’t fair and Dad should do something about it. Mom said, “You know, you learn a lot about someone when they don’t get their way.” When I think about it that way, I guess it’s okay.

--

--