Your Memories Wouldn’t

Yash Prakash
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readNov 14, 2019

My heart is aching, for it is waiting
For an ounce of love and attention
Dreaming of you, craving for your touch,
Waiting for the hope to shatter,
And yet it doesn’t.

The dreams of you are pure heaven,
Leading me on, rescuing me from myself,
Making me sigh, a touch impatient.
My heart needs you so much
Even when it shouldn’t.

Falling for the love it couldn’t have
My heart weeps its silent tears.
With a tired soul waiting for the inevitable
And nothing but agony it always feared,
I wait for the despair to take over,
and yet, it won’t.

And as you read my last letter,
Your eyes caressing the blotchy ink,
I’ll sigh and smile despite the pain.
For even though you leave me,
your memories wouldn’t.

--

--

Yash Prakash
Lit Up
Writer for

In a parallel world, I am a beloved author. Here, I’m trying to convince my other self to switch places with me.