Employment of What We’ve Learned

Colin Shaw
Literacy & Discourse
2 min readNov 30, 2015

Throughout my first semester I have put my learning's from English Composition to use in my development as a reader as well as my execution of the scientific lab write up. Medium employs a tool, drafts, that is also important to our English Composition course. Drafts and revision history are a large part of our course because a portion of each paper grade is process and peer reviews. The process analyses the progression from one draft to the next and peer reviews are done on the rough drafts while changes are made on future drafts of that paper. It also employs the tool of word count. This is important to our course as well because one must exceed the minimal word count in both the initial and final drafts to have the chance of receiving full credit on a paper assignment. My development as a reader has been aided by the reading in English Composition. These readings helped me realize the way I was approaching texts and the way it should be approached. I still approach texts as somewhat autonomous, however, I had started digging deeper and pulling out not only facts, but also other important information that can also be used to strengthen the support of a claim. Our analysis of the IMRaD format was very useful in the process of doing my first scientific write up for biology lab. Our lab had to contain introduction, methods, results, and discussion sections which is what the IMRaD format outlines and describes that each paragraph should contain. I read through the IMRaD cheat sheet as well as my biology lab outline when writing my lab write up to ensure I had all of the proper information and was formatting each section correctly.

--

--