English Class Information Transfers to Chemistry

Kirsten Thomas
Literacy & Discourse
2 min readNov 30, 2015

Discourses are everywhere. Whether I am at a social gathering or sitting in class, I can’t get away from Discourses. What are Discourses? Discourses are ways of being in the world. For example, if one is in the Discourse of football they will say, do, believe, and value the things that a Football player/fan should. When I sit in my Introduction to Environmental Issues class, I can’t help but think that about that kid in the back who is in the Discourse of basketball, or the girl in the front who is in the Discourse of science.

www.huffingtonpost.com

When I walk into chemistry lab, or Intro to Environmental Issues class, I sometimes feel the need to pull out the Wonder Woman pose. College, specifically the first-year, can be a terribly intimidating experience. So many students are still trying to feel comfortable in their own skin, or figure out where they belong in a group, and in turn, they can be bullies or the recipient of ridicule. Although I feel comfortable with my self and my abilities, I sometimes feel the pressure to follow the crowd. Even at work, I occasionally feel the need to preform. For those moments, I am thankful that Cripps taught us the Wonder Woman pose. The Wonder Woman pose is a stance that one can take to, in simplest terms, boost one’s confidence. Cripps got this idea from Amy Cuddy’s Ted Talk, in which she suggested standing in front of a mirror for two minutes in a powerful pose before going into a possibly stressful situation. Although I think it is more of a mind-game than Cuddy might suggest, it is a great tool to use before class to ensure you are on your A-game.

--

--