English Comp. in other classes

Brianna Testa
Literacy & Discourse
2 min readNov 30, 2015

English composition is used, at least by me, in a good majority of my classes. The in depth examination of IMRaD has helped in lab, especially when it comes to creating a powerpoint presentation where we were required to pick out certain points of the scientific article. Being able to distinguish between methods and procedure was tricky at first, and writing about it in english created a sort of tool to help me decipher between too much information, and just enough when writing methods. Although I planned to really learn how to write specific pieces of writing in this class, looking more in depth at Discourse has me really interested in how science, or biology, or even college works. I really focus on why we do the things we do in class and it makes me try harder to understand concepts. Understanding Gee’s idea of Discourse can also be obnoxious sometimes. I try to look at the areas I can connect what were discussing in english with other classes and sometimes it doesn’t quite mesh or match up, like in math. There is no real connection that I can make there. Knowing were learning the Discourse of academic writing in this class, I want to be able to apply it everything I can, and when I can’t find a connection, it’s frustrating. Regardless of the fact that I can’t connect english with math, being able to pick at pieces of science as a whole and understand how to pull out theories and claims in academic writing has helped me follow articles in biology

http://www.livescience.com/44549-what-is-biology.html

and concepts in anthropology. It’s helpful having a systematic breakdown of writing.

--

--