English Composition

Amanda Daine
Literacy & Discourse
2 min readNov 30, 2015

During our English Composition class this year with Michael J. Cripps, we employed many skills into our work. I find it interesting that we talk about the most abstract ideas in English class as opposed to biology or a scientific class. The ideas of Discourse have allowed me to look at my college experience in a different light. I know understand that the transition from being awkward as a freshmen to being a knowledgeable senior is something everyone undergoes. I have applied this to my other classes by looking at everything in a broader perspective. I know that the lab class I am in now, although I hate it, is teaching me necessary lessons to becoming part of my desired Discourse. I have found myself attempting to pay closer attention to the classes I do not find directly useful right now. The notion of our first paper and its ties to Cuddy have made a difference in my college experience to far. I try to go into everything I do with a little more confidence as to try and utilize Cuddy’s ideas, whether it is an exam or just a meeting with my professor. I also have recently begun to attempt to look at everything in a rhetorical frame. I realize that everything I am learning is connected to each other, and more importantly it is connected to me. The biology and psychology textbooks I read before class has a different meaning than before we read Haas. I now see that the author are just scientists who sat in class like me, but ended up developing experiments that changed how we think about the world around us. After our readings in class, I now feel like everything I am learning in college matters to my future career. As it all relates to my future Discourse.

--

--