English Composition Class Skills

Erin Sachiko Nakamura
Literacy & Discourse
1 min readNov 30, 2015

There are several ways I am employing things I learned from English Composition, and one way I am not employing what I learned.

I am using:

  1. Barclay’s Formula
  2. Text Engagement
  3. MLA Format

I use Barclay’s Formula as a guide rather than a rigged design because some paragraphs need more quotes for evidence or to introduce certain terms. Even though I use more quotes, I still use Barclay’s Formula to remind myself to introduce quotes and explain their importance.

I use text engagement when I determine which quotes are useful and when I figure out how to incorporate them into my paper.

I use MLA format for my header, in-text citations, and works cited. I use the Little Seagull Handbook for my works cited and Google’s setup for my header.

I found a “little seagull” on upsplash

I am not using:

  1. They say/I say

I need to include more of my own opinion to properly use they say/ I say. I do fairly well providing the “they say,” but I need to work harder using the “I say.” I haven’t looked at the structures given in the book recently, so I will look at them again to boost my understanding of this technique.

--

--