Meagan Keohane
Literacy & Discourse
1 min readNov 30, 2015

--

English Composition has taught me to read rhetorically, rather than reading texts as autonomous which was described while reading Christina Haas’ article “Written Communication”. I try to read rhetorically in every class that I can, but it is harder to read rhetorically in some classes than it is in others. Most of my other classes are science or math based classes, which is hard to see the facts as anything but autonomous because the textbook is simply a bunch of facts that have been proven over and over again throughout history. Even though I still read the textbooks in science and math classes autonomously, I try to understand what I am reading rather than simply memorizing it. By doing that, it helps to see the bigger picture as to why we are actually learning this, and learning to apply it to my major. Understanding texts is far more useful in the long run that just memorizing them long enough to take a quiz or exam, only to forget what was memorized soon after the exam. This we saw in Haas’ text through Eliza as she learned to apply the facts that she was learning, that may have seemed useless at the time, to how it will help her in her major and job in the future. I have tried to apply the same basics that Eliza did to my classes by trying to understand everything I learn so that it sticks longer in my brain than if I were to just memorize it long enough to take an exam.

--

--