English Composition in other classes

Eben Babbidge
Literacy & Discourse
1 min readNov 30, 2015

English Composition has greatly helped me create essays and also efficiently answer questions on tests. These test answers need to be concise, so you don’t elaborate extensively and possibly get it wrong, therefore using the exact meaning of a definition or an exact quote from a book will help you get it right. I learned this in English; providing evidence so you have validity to your argument. But, I haven’t used Discourse at all. Although I could potentially relate it to the different classes no one has referred to it or any of the aspects of it. Also, I haven’t really used multiple sources in an essay. Usually, we are just elaborating upon one text or book, but we may use outside sources if possible. Another aspect that I am using, though, is analytical reading. I am able to decide which parts I should analyze, and therefore analytically read, and which parts I can skim which is talked about in Haas’ study of Eliza. Using this has allowed me to read much more efficiently and I am able to find the information I need, and not think too heavily on the information that I don’t need. Lastly, the format in which we create our essays in I have used in every class. Most classes don’t really care which format it’s in so I have chosen the MLA format to practice it, and because I am familiar with it. It makes citing easy and it also is easier to be consistent throughout.

--

--