Untitled

Claire Valley
Literacy & Discourse
1 min readNov 30, 2015

So far throughout my college career, I haven’t used much of what I’ve learned in english composition in my other classes. This is because I am in primarily sciences courses which haven’t had many lab reports at all. One thing I have used in my biology course as well as my english class is notes. As the “Writing” article on Medium says,“Notes are a great way to leave yourself reminders or give feedback to others.”. In both of these classes, more so in english, I have become very comfortable with using comments and leaving notes on my paper as well as my peer’s papers. This tool becomes very helpful in the revision of papers or lab reports. Another thing I used in biology to complete a lab report was formatting. As we know, the IMRaD format of writing is very particular. One thing I haven’t used in any of my other classes is embedding videos and pictures into my work. I don’t have much experience with computer programs other than social media. I’m sure that as I start taking elective classes and classes other than just science I will become more familiar with many of these tasks and employ more of what I have learned from english composition to them.

--

--