The Learning in English does not apply to other classes

Kristen Bickford
Literacy & Discourse
2 min readDec 2, 2015

I have not been employing the learning from my English Composition class to my other classes because my other classes are very different than my English class and usually do not include looking at topics in depth and thoroughly analyzing them. As far as my other classes go, I have not written many papers, only a few lab reports. In these reports, there was a focus on formatting in which I had to use the proper subheading and italicize them. I also had to make sure that I met the word count requirement in these papers and had the proper citations for the websites that I had used. Although I included all of these things, I still did not deeply analyze the subject of the lab report. I would briefly talk about each section and explain it, however, I never made any connections between other papers or other kinds of research. In our English Composition class, we mainly focus on the pieces of language in a text, but in many of my other classes we focus on the bigger picture opposed to just one word. In my other lecture courses, the goal is to understand what the professor is teaching you and how the DNA functions in the cell or how memories are formed in the hippocampus which are just a few examples. None of my other classes narrow in on small parts of the material and go in depth and analyze what it really means and how it affects others or forms relationships and connections with others.

--

--