Untitled

Christian Hennessey
Literacy & Discourse
1 min readNov 30, 2015

Throughout college, I have been taught the practice of English composition. Some of the ideas within the practice have been expressed in my other work in college, such as courses like Political Science and Philosophy. The practices in the English Comp Discourse, such as formatting, word counter, and drafts. The formatting setting has been very important due to the concept of having to write in MLA format. The word counter allows me to know where I am at in my paper and how much I need to say with the amount of words required for the paper. Lastly, drafts allow me to revise my work and understand where my errors are in my paper. These tools have allowed me to write stronger papers as well as provide detailed quotes to improve the points I am trying to make in my argument. The practices in my classes outside of English composition also do not require some of the practices in the Discourse. In English Composition, we discuss a lot about Discourse. I have not had to include that in any of my papers so far this term. We also do a lot with identifying the Seven building tasks of a Discourse that we found from Fiano’s research. I have not had to incorporate that into any of my other classes as well. Lastly we have been doing a lot on discussing what the Discourse of science pertains when it has nothing to do with my major. That has not been used in any of my other classes as well.

--

--