What I have learned in english

Margaret
Literacy & Discourse
1 min readNov 30, 2015

I believe that my writing over the past semester has become more organized and is easily understood by the reader. I am still working on it but compared to my first paper to the last it has greatly improved. I lay out my claims and make sure the points I bring into the paragraph doesn’t relate to other ideas. This helps me with what I say in my introduction to give the reader a good idea about what my paper is going to be about. Before I felt like my peers had a hard time understanding what my claims or even if i had a claim were in my body paragraphs and that I was explaining too much of a topic. I brought in multiple topics that were not closely related to the main claim. Once my peers started to state this problems in my paragraph I now am able to fix it while I am writing and can see other students do this when I am peer editing. English has helped me in my other classes like biology. I started viewing the articles as autonomous and now I try to understand what the author is trying to say. I also look for key points that I can use in other topics of the class and how they relate to each other. It is a still work in progress but I think once I master this process it will help me become really successful in my biology classes.

--

--