Bird trapped in a cage

Zack Kumar
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readMay 7, 2019

I’m a bird trapped in a cage
a steel enclosure with an opened door
Leaving everything I can fly away
from things I thought I knew before
In a place promised to you and me
a place devoid of all boundaries.

Yet I can’t leave and fly away
from this world of name and form
as it’s the only place I have seen
for ages, it’s where I have been
my memories start and end herein
the place I call home in my heart within.

But something calls me to fly beyond
take a leap of faith and trust my heart
spread my wings and leave all behind
to soar the skies the boundless heights

Photo by Devin Avery on Unsplash

To see the cage again I turn around
I had to smile as Nothing is all I found.

--

--

Zack Kumar
Literally Literary

A fellow traveller on a journey to unravel the mystery of the universe.