A Caged Bird

Rajat
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2019
http://english.binus.ac.id/files/2015/02/bird-cage.jpg

I wonder when will I be able to fly,
with my wings high up in the sky fluttering through the cool breeze.
When will I be able to,
fly through the fluffy clouds searching for new horizons.
I wonder.

Looking through the cage, I see my destiny high up in the sky.
When will I be able to fly,
so that I can see the exquisite world,
with my own eyes.
I wonder.

Right now my wings are clipped by mundane expectations,
I feel breathless, something is holding me back from flying,
Somewhere I feel empty,
Somewhere I feel lost,
Disappointments and setbacks have clipped my wings.
Will I be able to fly high?
I wonder.

When I look through the cage, I see nothing
but a blurry mist ahead of me.
No more can I fly flawlessly amidst the clouds,
glistened by the glimmering sunlight.
I wonder when will I be able to fly towards my dream.

In that cage where I wait for that one day,
when I break open the cage of fear, expectations,
when I break the shackles that were holding me back,
and fly high like a Phoenix in the azure sky.

One day I will spread my wings and fly high among the valleys,
dancing to the hymn of the sea,
and watch the mesmerizing magical,
the beauty of nature with my own eyes.

@Rajat 2019

--

--