A Place Called Home

Nupur Joshi
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2019
Image Courtesy Pixabay.com

Wilted flowers
Jilted souls
Stifled cries
Lonely roads
This is not the town I remember…..

Where are the
Old familiar faces
The happy childhood traces
Is this really the place I use to call home?

People come…..people go
Like a warm embrace to a shivering soul
My eternal comfort was this place I called home
But now the grass doesn’t grow
The breeze feels too cold
The children don’t play along
The women don’t smile at me anymore
On the land I discovered myself
Today I feel so lost

Does this town not have a place for me anymore?

I close my eyes
Memories fill up my pores
The smell of the fresh grass
I played on,
Still lingers in my nose.

My friends’ laughter rings in my ears
A song brushes my lips
The one I sang for someone dear

So I think to myself,
Maybe in the hollow of my bones I carry my home.

Forever sometimes is just a word
Things change they can’t always be the same.

Come back here again one day they had said
But now people tell me they moved far away or died a long time ago,

Everything has changed
Nothing will ever be the same
So with a tender heart I pray,
In the ragged lines of my palm let me carry my home.

Hearts break,
They learn to love again
I hope someday
Amidst an unguarded moment
In the curve of my smile you will catch a glimpse of my home
For I may live across the globe
Climbing newer mountains
Discovering cozy shores,

But in a moment of pain
When I want to escape it all

My heart will always fly back to this place I called home.

One can’t find something
They never really lost
When in doubt just peek into the depths of my soul
For you will find that is where I carry
This beautiful place I call home.

--

--

Nupur Joshi
Literally Literary

I am a writer & filmmaker hoping to start a meaningful conversation through my art