A Solitary Witch Brews Self-Love

Crystal Jackson
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2019

--

Photo by Kayla Maurais on Unsplash

I made this brew on my own
I crafted it when I was alone
It was enough, I had all I could need.
But a longing grew, became a seed

Then, I met you on a changing wind
You overflowed my cup and then
You began to think I needed you,
To mix up a strong enough love to brew.

The winds changed again, as they often will,
You started to guess how I might feel,
You began to fear that I might fall
But read the runes, what’s writ on the wall.

Read the tea leaves or my hand
If you ever want to understand,
The lines in my hand will tell it true
I wanted but had no need of you.

I make this brew, I read the cards
I cast the spells, I watch the stars
I give my heart free reign to roam
Until it lands and finds a home,

--

--