Alfred

Natasha McGregor
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2021

A villanelle poem

Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

Alfred the Gorilla arrived at Bristol Zoo in 1930 and became a popular attraction and animal celebrity. His fame grew to international proportions during World War II and after his death he remained an important mascot for the city of Bristol. After Alfred died in 1948, his taxidermic form was put on display in Bristol City Museum and Art Gallery where he continued to act as a mascot for the city.

My granny used to tell me
How he would wander round the zoo, his keeper by his side.
A striking image at any age.

He would wear his knitted jumper.
Sometimes he would wave at you, sometimes he’d throw shit,
My granny used to tell me.

He was famous across the world after the war.
Photos sent home as far away as America,
A striking image at any age.

The city mourned when he finally died.
Grampy even wrote a poem about him,
My granny used to tell me.

They sent his insides to be studied,
Sent the rest of him to London for stuffing, so he would remain
A striking image at any age.

We would stand looking at him through the glass, our hands entwined.
‘I’ve never looked him square in the eye,’
My granny used to tell me.
A striking image at any age.

--

--

Natasha McGregor
Literally Literary

Writer of words, reader of books, educator of teenagers. Pray for me. If you like my work, please consider buying me a coffee: https://ko-fi.com/nmcgregor.