It All Begins

Stephanie
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readDec 22, 2019
Photo by Ales Me on Unsplash

Where should I start?

Was it all about the first date? Or our first “Hi ” on the phone?

It was a nice breezy night. You gave me a hug, and I saw the twinkle in your eyes. I know you liked me already; you didn’t even know that the way you looked at me spoke everything; even beyond words.

I was thinking if you would pull the seat for me, but we got a sofa booth, so you didn’t have the chance to. “Would you do that if there was a chance?” I wondered.

The candles on the table lightened up our booth. The atmosphere in the restaurant was nice. We talked a lot as if we had known each other for centuries.

When we went back to your car after dessert, you sang suddenly, “before you came into my life, I miss you so bad, I miss you so so bad….” again and again. While you were singing, the breeze brought me the nice scent of your cologne to me.

I giggled, and you smiled.

None of us remembered how the date ended, but I believed we both knew there would be a second date for sure. Since then, the notifications of WhatsApp showed on our screen every minute, urging us to reply to each other as soon as possible.

We laughed, we fought, we argued, we joked, we chatted, we cried, we shared, and we listened. Together.

“I like you. I like your personality, I like how you smile, it would nice to see you laugh every day,” you said.

“Even though we are not being together or dating each other, even though I am just one of your friends, I will always pray for you to be happy, and I will always be there for you when you need me.” You said this the other day when we were talking on the phone, totally out of blue.

However, they were the most beautiful words I’d heard for a long while from a man.

It took us some time to start dating, but those days weren’t a waste to me. I would say that’s the shortcut for us to start our relationship. If it wasn’t for the days we showed our true colors during the time we had spent, we might not even be together. Every little moment gave us a chance to see the possibility to be a thing.

And that was when it all started; when there was a us.

From ME to WE.

--

--

Stephanie
Literally Literary

Life fulls of plenty of whys, happiness, coincidences, love, and stories that we couldn’t have imagined to meet. To be told.