An Atoll’s Obituary

Arati Nair
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readMay 5, 2022
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

The Pacific, passive, in plaintive pose,
Pavonian pallor plush and pure,
Pamper pliant pals too close.
Your yawning yearn to nurse and cure
Bays in plight, shores in pain,
Guardian hype or virtuous vain?
I ponder this dusk, dream in dread
Squander will you, the rest to peril led?

You mock in pain, on sandy castles slain,
Scoffing straits, your mates in play,
Empty your vault, azure gold amassed,
To hungry bowels, in compliance they lay.
Typhoons in armor demand a share
You, though, low in grade unleash
Sated claims of self-praise, routing rowdies fair
A lesson in might you then teach.

My melancholy tarnished, bronze tiara tampered,
Brackish bubbles funnel my heart,
Your passion province no longer apart.
Cascade my soul in bluish bloom
Blatant bravado shall I moon
Though sunk in you I may stay,
Diadem demolished, just tearful cocoon
Saved me you have, on my last day.

© Arati Nair 2022

--

--

Arati Nair
Literally Literary

Content writer, avid book lover, amateur poet and bizarrely imaginative commoner.