Ashy

A teacher’s meditations on skin care
and skin color

Griffy LaPlante (they/them)
Literally Literary
1 min readNov 1, 2019

--

Matching with my sixth grader (we’re both sneaker girls).

A whole world of
expletives out there,
yet one of the worst things you could call
my room full of black and Latinx teenagers is

ashy. Late last spring

I ordered a bulk supply of lotion
to keep in a drawer;
they pass it among themselves and
apply it liberally. Nowadays I take pride
in having a class of students who are

well
moisturized.

My skin gets dry in the winters, too,
but when I put on lotion
my skin doesn’t change color
the way theirs does —

that only happens when I feel things strongly and
my cheeks flush red.
Why do you turn so pink? they ask me;
once, Do white people get pimples?
Now I cannot get a blackhead without them

pointing it out.
I try not to mind. In the end, we are all teenagers
learning about our bodies.
Learning about each other.

--

--

Griffy LaPlante (they/them)
Literally Literary

antifascist writer on stolen Dakota land. subscribe to my (free!) e-zine “K.T.F.D.” at tinyurl.com/ktfdearie or read me on Insta at @anarchistpublicmedia