Blooming Where I’m Planted

Existence
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readApr 29, 2019
Source

each effervescent color discernible

in a single planet

beauteous they struck as,

but possessed knife-like edges

failing to be cautious enough would waste every droplet of aqua you spent years storing,

so as to nurture yourself,

but it matters no more once you permit the cactus

which disguises itself as a sunflower,

to reach your wondrous fruits,

piercing your skin with the edges you supposed petals

and subsequently, draining you to the point in which the rainwater transfigured into tears,

and you were forsaken to starve.

I was never cautious

a hypocrite speaks

my leaves descended down into despair long before autumn,

the green remained a dirty yellow

and the passers-by wondered why

my patience entitled me to wait,

thus I waited,

eventually, the rain surrendered

and came trickling down

in droplets of hope,

starved for my touch,

the leaves that sunk beforehand, substituted by petals that weren’t even supposed to be mine,

is this what happiness feels like?

bees advance occasionally

for additional nectar,

but I have placed a cactus beside me to repel them afar.

--

--