Blue Crow Waltz

A poem

Donald Warren Hayward
Literally Literary

--

Photo by Shawn Bergman

You were alone when you danced
with your shadow on the wall
I was only a few feet away
I was always a few feet away
But you had to do something when I said I love you

I defaced new buildings
I burnt holes in the new carpet with cigarettes
I was run over by new motorcycles
Years later, I finally discovered what “I am love you” meant

We never danced together
On the subway, you had sentences prepared
That would leave me dumbfounded
I was not motivated then, or ever, to challenge you

I remember there was snow and it was
Snowing around the streetlamps
And I saw halos everywhere and no angels

I suppose I would exhaust anyone
I was dull and flat when I was alone
When I was near you, I impersonated you
And finally turned into yourself

I would steal from grocery stores
I threw away my leather belts
I donated my blood to buy you a dulcimer
No wonder you escaped
The big city was waiting for you

And music in 3/4 time
Was faint only to me
Even now
I’m not sure if I ever heard it.

· “Blue Crow Waltz” is the ninth session of Cowboy Bebop.

--

--