Dark Matter

Andreia Maravilhas
Literally Literary
Published in
Nov 11, 2020
Photo by Ayko Neil Kehl on Unsplash

I thought about love today.

Haven’t thought about it in a while. I never really think about it anymore.

Something I saw reminded me of it. The feeling. The standards we put upon ourselves that makes us love someone so highly.

It was a pedestal that rose under your feet, the altitude so high that drove us apart by going too far.

I felt grief for the idea that died in the love that never made it.

For a moment in time, there was something greater than being a human in our souls, something that pulled us together.

A rubber band that broke and took us savagely apart.

I can still feel the rip. The marks were covered in dark matter.

Now, they are like bumps on a patched road.

They raise doubts, they raise awareness, and from time to time, on a rare day like this, they make my eyes water with pain.

You see but in life, it doesn’t really matter how high you climb or how low you fall. It all feels the same when you can’t feel anything.

In the end, love is just an idea that doesn’t really exist.

The pedestal is fake.

You taught me that.

--

--

Andreia Maravilhas
Literally Literary

Traveler. Writer. Entrepreneur. Addicted to life and to create indelible moments with amazing human beings. Living to feed happiness to the soul.