Dear God…

Mitul Bhat
Literally Literary
Published in
3 min readMar 21, 2020
Photo by Kevin Gent on Unsplash

Monday | 9:00 PM

Dear God,

Today Miss Fernandez asked Ananya and me to get Suresh uncle and Appa to school tomorrow for a parent teacher meeting. I don’t know why!

I don’t remember doing anything wrong. I reached school, and as always, sat next to Ananya. In the recess, I ate her sandwich, and she had my dosa. Ananya and I exchanged boxes because I don’t like dosa. You know, I have told Amma not to pack dosa, but she never listens to me. Today I cried only once, in the Math period. But it was not my fault. Shah teacher scolded Ananya as she had not finished her homework. Ananya started crying, and on seeing her cry, I also started crying. Everybody else started laughing.

In the evening, I went to Ananya’s house to help her finish her Math homework, so that the teacher does not scold her tomorrow. I also took my drawing book, so that while I am finishing her Math homework, she can finish my kite drawing. I don’t like to draw; I like Math. Ananya does not like Math; she likes drawing. So what’s wrong if we do each other’s homework? But when Ananya’s mom saw us helping each other, she scolded us and made her do the sums and me color the kite.

After dinner, I told Appa that Miss Fernandez had called him and Suresh uncle to school tomorrow. Appa started laughing, saying, “I knew this day would come. But so soon, I had no clue!”

Tuesday | 9:00 PM

Dear God,

Miss Fernandez has moved Ananya to class 2B. I am still in class 2A.

Amma said this had to be done, as we were not making other friends in class and only playing with each other. I don’t like school. I don’t like Miss Fernandez; I don’t like Appa, Amma, or Suresh uncle.

I don’t like you, and I am never going to pray from now on.

Wednesday | 9:00 PM

Dear God,

I told you I would not pray. I am not praying!

Thursday & Friday | 9:00 PM

Dear God,

Still not praying!

Saturday | 9:00 PM

Dear God,

Today a girl called Riya joined our class. Miss Fernandez told us that her father got transferred from Jaipur to Bangalore. She asked Riya to sit next to me. Riya was wearing a pink dress with red flowers and a golden ribbon. Miss Fernandez said because it’s her first day to school, its ok to not be in school uniform. Riya was looking like a princess. She was looking so beautiful that I wanted to hug her.

In the evening, when I was telling Amma about Riya, and how pretty her dress was, Appa started laughing. He told Amma, “Sushma, prepare yourself for one more class change.” I don’t know why he said that!

I like my school. I like Riya. I like Miss Fernandez and Amma and Appa.

I like you and will pray every day!

© Mitul Bhat 2020

--

--

Mitul Bhat
Literally Literary

A father, husband, friend, designer, writer, beer and tea lover in exactly the same order! Based out of the San Francisco Bay Area. www.mitulbhat.com