Edge Of The Family Gene Pool

Should I jump in?

Lauren Salkin
Literally Literary

--

Photo by Nicholas Sampson on Unsplash

Shoe tips point to slacken sky,
as passing storm clouds thunder by.
One more step, off the cliff I go.
Should I?

I know the gloom that looms below,
the family gene pool, a place I know.
In stagnant waters,
my mother, father, brothers float.

The pool looks dark from where I stand.
Should I observe it from a distance
or jump in?

One step forward into a rush of air
falling, scraping, scraggy hills downward,
life on a roll tumbling toward darkness below.

At the bottom, dysfunction waits,
in swirling bits of genetic waste,
for another soul to claim.

Should I jump in?
I still have choices on the edge.

Here, in the safe place colors abound.
Shadows ebb in bursts of light.
Life sounds echo in the now,
as regrets rise and try to drag me down.

--

--