I almost met an angel

Dipesh Malhotra
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2022

To describe her would be a crime,
Because words will never be enough,
Still, I will describe her to you, fine!
Through the words, I can muster

I was strolling through the streets,
In the blessed Central Delhi,
A place designed to Sir Luteyn’s treat,
I was in the heart of its belly!

The circles of Connaught places made me long,
For a straight ‘straight as a soldier’ road,
But when I saw her face,
My legs went shivering cold …

Her eyes told stories,
Of faraway places, ancient times,
And I wanted to have glory,
I wanted to say something that rhymed!

And she was not making me work for it,
For her face had such symmetry,
That I would not mind overworking,
Giving away my life, my sleep, my everything!

And so I sat down on a bench,
And looked at her with such intense,
That I forgot where I was,
Time came to a pause …

My eyes were fixated on her finery,
As she walked away with her friend,
I couldn’t bring myself to reality,
I couldn’t walk up to them!

For I was a lonely guy,
I didn’t know her love could be my food,
And once you grow comfortable with loneliness,
You forget when you should leave it for good

That day, I let an angel,
A blessed creature walk away,
Because I was afraid of the danger,
That killing my loneliness would create …

© Dipesh Malhotra 2022

Follow me on Twitter & LinkedIn.

--

--

Dipesh Malhotra
Literally Literary

Huff huff! If you disturb him, he’ll write a Horry story with your name (and probably make you roll down a hill). Future Author.