I Fell Up.

“…when I wrote this there were no pauses and the mood I wrote about has no pauses.”

Yellow Brick Road
Literally Literary
2 min readApr 3, 2017

--

CC0, Image Curtsy: pixabay.com

I think I was on my laptop for 30 hours straight
on a break from college
at home
during midterms
all alone
except for family and mom
who told me to eat
but I went on and over the cliff because
the hand of the clock
it was moving slowly
and I was doing more in a second
than I do in a minute
and I was writing reading clicking and seeing
and fretting and thinking and sometimes in the zone
overdriven under-slept and force fed
for 24 hours
I wrote I whittled I wrought I whispered I was?

I think I was on my laptop for 30 hours straight
on a break from college
at home
during midterms
all alone
except for family
when I fell
up into the clouds
under the harsh glare of an unhidden sun
that was rolling in the blue but remained yellow
because the blue just didn’t stick
and I found myself fallen up over the rainbow
with empty pockets because my lemon drops had fallen down
and I saw them rain on me
as I fell up and they rose down
and I wondered about
the direction of my fall
seeing as right and left were relative
maybe up and down were too.

When I woke up through the clouds having fallen up
after I had been on my laptop for 30 hours straight
I sought for darkness because the sun was too yellow
and though it did try becoming blue
the blue didn’t stick
so I dodged every ray and played hopscotch
till eventually
I landed too hard on a cloud that gave away and apologised
saying it wasn’t dense enough any way
and so my last hop
it saw me to the ground
like a little piece of lightning that was striking out
and on the ground I think
I became a little ball
and since the sun wasn’t yellow
and the sky was blue
and so I was
a ball that didn’t need to hop
but since that was my profession
I threw myself up again and again
till I fell up through the clouds
again
and I hopped slowly this time so
the clouds wouldn’t give way
and it helped
that I preferred the black ones anyway.

Please note, the lack of punctuation is deliberate.
Pause where you like.
Because when I wrote this
there were no pauses
and the mood I wrote about
has no pauses.
And please ❤ this if you liked it so others can read it too. Much love.

--

--

Yellow Brick Road
Literally Literary

Personal writings on gender and mental health. Life is a dinner table conversation and I’m noting down whatever I can on disposable napkins.