Into the sun

Mariam Tariq
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readMar 31, 2019

I thought;

where do I go looking for love?

I saw you in the dancing lights

I saw you in those eyes that laughed at me as I laughed back

I saw you in the dimly lit walls

and the ceiling when I looked up

I saw you when I closed my eyes and smiled.

I saw you in the fuzzy television static inside of me

as it filled me and made me heavy

brought me down to the ground

sank me in to the yellow sun so deep, until I became the sun

warmth running in my veins.

I saw you in the letters that said e x p l o r e,

but they didn’t make much sense.

I saw you

as you came to me in waves,

you washed over me

took me with you,

drowned me and you brought me back to the shore,

and you left me there.

--

--

Mariam Tariq
Literally Literary

Product design consultant passionate about design ✨ technology 🌈 sustainability 🌱 curious about human behaviors and the world 🌎