January’s Blue Stillness

Debbie Aruta-Watkins
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readJan 9, 2017
Photo by Pixabay.com

I woke and looked out my immense bedroom window.
The morning blue hour was outside in reverent tones.
It seemed to be paying homage to the new day.
I laid in stillness in my bed,
quietly gazing out at the deep blue light.

I did not want to move for fear it would vanish if I did.
The stillness of the blue hour is flitting.
It is a gift given for just this hour.

This new day was swept under whispers of white.
Each snowflake perfectly piled on the next.
Snow laying in faultless stillness upon the earth.
The snow draped over the earth in pure indifference.
The snow wrapped around the world in stillness.

All these colors surrounding me in a cocoon,
A shake of a winter snow globe.
I lay in perfect stillness, afraid to stir it up.
The world was at peace right now.

The view out my window looked like diamonds and marshmallows,
resting in unspoiled stillness.
This January peacefulness lulled me into oblivion.
I gazed out my window until the harsh rays of the sun dissembled the peace bit by bit.
Smashing blue stillness away into brilliant yellows.

January is so frigid, so unobtrusive, and so exquisite.
January has a stillness filled with magic and wonder.
January you are a diamond fill with blues that make us happy.
You make us freeze in stillness, frozen in diamonds and marshmallows.

Thank you January for bringing us stillness in your beauty.

--

--