Love’s Unattainable Canvas

Shouts of society

Nasrullah Jalbani
Literally Literary
3 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

The sky was covered with clouds and it was drizzling, the chirping of birds was silenced, and birds were returning to their homes, perhaps everyone was joining in our sorrow. There was no fun in the atmosphere of the university today, the flowers had died, Rubina was sitting in front of me outside the library, and Rubina and I were quietly spending these last moments with each other.

I said to Rubina with my trembling lips "No bright side is visible, no hope is visible, no situation is visible, no hope is brought, where should I go, where should I look, to whom should I call. There is desolation everywhere, there is darkness everywhere, I do not understand anything, Rubina, the heart is very scared. Disappointment has been so much that my back is broken. I can’t face these realities. I can’t face this rubbish parting, I can’t Rubina. My heart will not bear the pain of your separation"
After listening to my words, tears came to Rubina’s eyes and she took my hand in her hand and started pressing it in despair.
"Rubina Nature also mourns our love, the trees that were once vibrant with life, now stand as witnesses of our shattered dreams". I started talking "But Rubina, you don’t care about this, what will happen to me, how will I live without you".

"I care about you," Rubina said in despair, "I care about you Sarang, but what should I do, despair and compulsion have become a part of life, and social pressure has hurt my heart and my mind, what can I do? How can I explain to you Sarang" while talking, Rubina’s face turned pale with pain and grief.

I had heard that love is strong, the power of love makes a person strong, but our love was dominated by constraints, social constraints, the constraints of being poor and rich, one of the two lovers being rich and the other poor. Because of these reasons, attainable love became unattainable.

What a lovely day when I met Rubina, the past flashed before my eyes, the first time I saw Rubina, my body was crawling, I was going up the stairs to my department, and Rubina was coming down the stairs, wearing sunglasses, U-shaped hair, looking like a fairy, this day was the beginning of our love, I couldn’t sleep the whole night after seeing her. After that, my eyes were longing to see Rubina, my days were passing in the memory of Rubina, her thoughts, her memories, nothing was visible except Rubina for a few days. After that, we looked into each other’s eyes and the colors of our love started to grow, my mind was lost in the past of the first meeting that Rubina brought me from the past to the present, Rubina started saying "Let’s go it’s too late."
Rubina’s words "Let’s go, it’s too late" fell on the land of my heart as an atomic bomb fell on the land of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.
I raised my face and looked at Rubina in surprise and worry, I couldn’t give her any answer, Rubina got up and said again, "Let’s go, it’s getting late, now we should go."

When she saw that I was not responding to her, she walked four steps away from me and stood there. Bracing myself I stood up and went to Rubina and started talking " You have only been playing with my heart Rubina, all the promises you made were lies, love with me was just a lie, how could you change so quickly, how could you leave me, tell me something, Rubina." After hearing my dialogue, Rubina became sad, tears came out of her eyes and started falling down her cheeks. "You do not understand my point, you and me are different from the sky and the earth, we can’t be with each other" Rubina’s voice was full of pain, and she started talking again in a pained voice. "You are a boy living in a village, born in a village, brought up in a village and I am a modern city girl. There is a difference between you and me, Sarang, our lifestyle is very different," Rubina finished her speech crying and left forever and I was left watching the spectacle of my love’s parting and the game of poverty.

--

--

Nasrullah Jalbani
Literally Literary

Hello, I'm Nasrullah Jalbani, a passionate writer from Sindh, Pakistan.