POETRY/ NATURE/ STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS

Ode to a Leaf

Nita Jain
Literally Literary

--

Dear Crestfallen Leaf,
I love your poetry beyond belief
Your words exude love, comfort, sweet relief
For this young old soul now battling disease
Awaiting Mother Mary’s soft whisper, “Let It Be”
Bringing a whole new meaning to carpe diem, seize.

Running down the dream, only to find
Karma’s a trip, with no travel agent in mind
And this, my desperate attempt to answer you in kind.
Maybe just one last trip, for old times’ sake
Niagara, Superior, Victoria Lake
“But the sea is wide and I cannot swim over
Nor have I the wings to fly.”

Still might I fashion, from my imagination,
Destinations just over that horizon.
Chocolate on your pillow, a room with a view
Through my mind’s eye
I glimpse Scarborough, Innisfree, Xanadu.

“Take the wave now and know that you’re free.
Turn your back on the land, face the sea.
And in due time, I will forge
A bridge over troubled water
To lead you back home.”
Full circle on this accidental poem.

“È la fede che
Hai acceso in noi
Sento che ci salverà.”

Originally published on Enclave on March 27, 2018

--

--

Nita Jain
Literally Literary

I share health and science insights to improve your quality of life | nitajain.substack.com